Medical Care Advisory Committee

Minutes of October 17, 2024

Participants

Committee Members (via phone)

Rachel Craig (Chair), Dr. Jennifer Brinton, Carlos Flores, Michael Hales, Joey Ulrich, Daryl Herrschaft, Melissa Presley, Brian Monsen, Joey Hanna, Stephanie Burdick, Calleen Kenney, Jennifer Marchant, Kim Dansie, and Davis Moore.

Committee Members Absent

Dr. Scott Folkman, Gina Tuttle, Alan Ormsby, Michael Jensen, and Cassidy Matthews

DHHS Staff (via phone)

Josip Ambrenac, Tracy Barkley, Laura Belgique, Gina Boren, Eric Grant, Yoon Kim-Butterfield, Samantha Moore, Brian Roach, Jennifer Meyer-Smart, Michelle Smith, Jim Stamos, Greg Trollan, Kolbi Young, Sharon Steigerwalt, and Dorrie Reese

Guest (via phone)

Liz Armour-Roth, Laura Britton, Anni Butterfield, Emma Chacon, Jill Chang, Nelson Clayton, Michael Allred (GOPB), Kevin Eastman, Jeannie Edens, Neil Erickson (DGO), Julie Ewing, Matt Hansen, Geoff Harding, Kory Holdaway, Matt Isom, Michelle Jenson, Jesse Liddell, Elise Napper (DGO), Andrea Neilsen, Libby Oseguera (Exec. Director Gov's Council for People w/Disabilities), Anna Ott (GO), Jennifer Radcliffe, Andrew Riggle, Destiny Rockwood, Leigha Rodak, Caitlin Schneider, Beth Smith, Nancy Strahan, Stacey Swilling (State Dental Director), Jeremy Taylor (AI/AN), Payton Thomas, Mary Urie, Nicole Vallieres, Emilie Willis (GOPB), Audry Wood, Todd Wood, and Zach Zimmerli.

Welcome:

Rachel Craig welcomed everyone.

Approval of Minutes:

Destiny Rockwood made the motion to approve September 19, 2024, MCAC minutes. Kim Dansie seconded that motion. The group unanimously agreed.

Thank you, Dr. Baird:

Rachel Craig thanked Dr. Baird for his service on the MCAC, dental community

Welcome Dr. Scott Folkman:

Rachel Craig welcomed Dr. Scott Folkman, dental community.

Welcome Joey Ulrich:

Rachel Craig welcomed Joey Ulrich, business community.

Accepting nominations for Local Health Departments Representative:

Rachel Craig mentioned that the MCAC is accepting nominations for Local Health Departments Representative. If anyone is interested, please email to Sharon Steigerwalt at steigerwalt@utah.gov

Public Hearing: 1115 Waiver Amendment SB 181:

Laura Belgique discussed 1115 Waiver Amendment SB 181, Native American Health Amendments.

The document which was presented is embedded in this document.

https://medicaid.utah.gov/Documents/SB181 Native American Health Amendment Public Health Overview

MAC and BAC discussion for the changes to the bylaws:

- Vote to adopt will occur in the November meeting
- Accepting nominations for the BAC

EPSDT Overview of CMS Requirements:

Jim Stamos gave an update.

The document which was presented is embedded in this document. https://medicaid.utah.gov/Documents/EPSDT Program MCAC Presentation

Notices Workgroup Quarterly Report:

Jorge Flores gave an update

Medicaid Eligibility & Enrollment Update:

Michelle Smith gave an update on Unwinding Continuous Medicaid Eligibility.

Post-unwinding data analysis and strategy:

Brian Roach gave an update.

The document which was presented is embedded in this document. https://medicaid.utah.gov/Documents/Post-Unwinding Data Analyst Strategy

Director's Report:

Brian Roach gave an update on Upcoming Medicaid Policy Change, and SPAs Rules.

The document which was presented is embedded in this document.

https://medicaid.utah.gov/Documents/MCAC Director's Update

SPA's Rules:

https://medicaid.utah.gov/Documents/MCAC SPA Summary https://medicaid.utah.gov/Documents/MCAC Rule Summary

Committee Member Updates:

There were none

Adjourn:

The meeting was adjourned at 4:00pm. The next meeting is scheduled for Nov 21, 2024, at 2:00-4:00 p.m.